CSI:NY in SL – Looking for Venus…Look up…Look way up…

Resumed my search for Venus last night, despite atrocious lag inworld. I’ve been averaging 4-5 fps in theNY in Second Life past week. Reasonable frame rate is usually around the 15 mark. Makes for some pretty jerky and delayed movement. But, with another sighting reported, I ventured in, determined to find the latest card.

One of the fun aspects in SL is the lack of gravity. You can build floating structures and flying, without the aid of any contraption, is a common way to move around this virtual universe. The creators of the CSI:NY mystery are taking advantage of this feature and taking us all up to a new level. The first mystery (High Flying) involves a floating platform (the Pegasus skydiving pad), where one of the suspects is interviewed. While we had been teleported directly to that pad  during that investigation, I didn’t realize it was up in the air until I tried finding Venus last night. According to the sighting report:

“A tourist on the Pegasus skydiving platform spotted Venus on a nearby rooftop. Head to the Venus crime lab to study the picture, then head downtown to figure out where Venus was when the picture was taken. If you’re lucky, you’ll recover some evidence from her perch.”

Camera ControlUsing the camera control I was able to look up from the site of the first crime scene and find the platform. Now I had to get up to it. I use a laptop without a mouse, which makes flying a bit of a challenge. Add the lag factor to it, and flying becomes more of an art than a science. I got acquainted with theMovement Control Panel movement control panel which helped me a lot, especially with flying upwards.  Thanks to a major clue from the log report back at the lab, I found the proper rooftop. Landing on it was not as easy. After much trial and error, I finally found the best way to do it: crash your avatar on the adjoining wall, then use the down arrow key to lower yourself to the rooftop. Not very graceful, but, hey, it worked!

I found the card and took it back to the lab for analysis. There’s trouble brewing….Stay tuned!…

Leave a Reply

