L&O: SVU Avatar follow-up

Well, watched the avatar episode on SVU. I have to agree with fan posts on the SVU site today. It was a pretty weak episode. Not well grounded at all. The virtual world they used seems like it was from the IMVU 3D Avatar program. I’ve never used that site, which is actually more of a 3d chat app, than a virtual world on its own, but it looked pretty blocky compared to Second Life. Compare for yourself with these two videos from YouTube:

1) IMVU: Cute video of “Under The Sea” (Little Mermaid):

2) SL: U2inSL in concert:

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2 responses to “L&O: SVU Avatar follow-up

  1. I caught the episode. It was horrid! I understand that the show always tries to be “cutting edge”; but the episode went so far to achieve it that it had me rolling on the floor laughing. Okay, not really, but when it ended, I realized that my jaw had been hanging open for the majority of the hour.

    It went down in my book as the worst SVU episode I’ve ever seen. Yuck.

  2. I definitely agree with you on that one, Rhea. I only hope this isn’t the beginning of the end for this series. I didn’t catch the first episode this year, but I watch this show regularly in reruns, and no matter how many times I’ve seen some episodes, it’s one of the few shows that often still moves me to tears. Avatar didn’t even come close…

    Cheers and thanks for posting! 🙂

    MaxieM

Leave a Reply

